Arthur H. Jackson

An old Brightonian, 1881, you left for the shores of many; You took your music with you. O’ Nightingale, what did you hear?

Son of Isaac, I could not know and I could only guess how the world came into tune. You were consumed, the lights came on.

Watching your bowers, Did you think of the times of man? When Boer meant fletcher; Twas when the seas were roaring.


I wrote a series of poems based on old obituaries I found in archived newspapers, this was my favourite. I will publish the others after revisions at a later date.

An’ old Brightonian, Mr. Arthur H. Jackson, R.A, professor of music, composer of “Lord Ullan’s Daughter”, died on September 27th, 1881, of brain fever, at 4 Oxford and Cambridge Mansions, W., London, aged 29 : interred on Friday, 30th, at Hampstead Cemetery. He Married Miss Edith Brandon, one of the talented artistes attached to German Reed’s entertainment

(Painting: Colonel Acland and Lord Sydney: The Archers, 1769-1770)

#poetry